Live in Buffalo: 1980 (The River Tour)

My second Springsteen show was in 1980 in Buffalo, New York. The ticket says Dec. 1st, but it was postponed and moved to Dec. 4. I was a freshman at St. Bonaventure in Olean, New York. My friend Mike drove from Albany to pick me up. My roommate told me “Joyce, he’s driving all that way to see YOU. This is a date.” I said, “No way, we are just friends … if you ever saw Springsteen in concert you would drive all that way too!” (She was a Billy Joel fanatic from Long Island.) The two of us then drove to Canisus College to meet up with another friend, Anne. My roommate was right: It was our official first date and we’ve been married 28 years. Our dog’s name is Bruce.

Here is the setlist, thanks to Brucebase.

BORN TO RUN / OUT IN THE STREET / TENTH AVENUE FREEZE-OUT / TWO HEARTS / THE PRICE YOU PAY / FACTORY / INDEPENDENCE DAY / I FOUGHT THE LAW / PROVE IT ALL NIGHT / THE PROMISED LAND / RACING IN THE STREET / THE RIVER / BADLANDS / THUNDER ROAD / CADILLAC RANCH / SHERRY DARLING / HUNGRY HEART / FIRE / CANDY’S ROOM / BECAUSE THE NIGHT / I WANNA MARRY YOU / FOR YOU / THE TIES THAT BIND / WRECK ON THE HIGHWAY / STOLEN CAR / RAMROD / YOU CAN LOOK (BUT YOU BETTER NOT TOUCH) / DRIVE ALL NIGHT / ROSALITA (COME OUT TONIGHT) / SANTA CLAUS IS COMIN’ TO TOWN / JUNGLELAND / I’M A ROCKER / DETROIT MEDLEY – LONESOME TRAIN / RAISE YOUR HAND

Here is a video from the show:

Bruce the dog
1 Comment

  1. That was awesome to see! My gosh, time passes quickly. Thanks for sharing. And Bruce your dog is cuter than ever.

Leave a Reply

